Bridget

Gifts from here and there…

In Garden, green living on March 29, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Gifts come in many ways.  From friends, family, husband or wife or even people you “know” through their blogs. One such gift was the Very Inspiring Blogger Award given recently by Kevin over at www.nittygrittydirtman.wordpress.com . Thanks Kevin, I do appreciate your kind words and the award. Kevin’s blog is often about gardening but not exclusively. Always entertaining though! To accept the award I must nominate other blogs to also receive the award. I always feel weird about doing this as each blog is that person’s effort…I do not wish to name individual blogs on this occasion. If I follow your blog that means I like it… so to every blog I follow do take the award and pass it on. Maybe someone who has a blog needs a lift or a bit of appreciation…nominate them and make their day.

Another condition is to reveal 7 random facts about oneself.

1. I love wool but it irritates my skin so I can’t wear it.

2. I have a strong sense of justice.

3. I don’t like people who lie…it is an insult to anyone’s intelligence.

4. My most recent discovery about myself is that I have ADD (attention deficit disorder).

5. I hated school.

6. I believe in Angels.

7. One of my fave meals is basmati rice topped with a good helping of mung bean dhal. Delicious!

Another unexpected gift came my way yesterday…this lovely little Japenese hoe. Isn’t it lovely?  I spent a few hours helping a friend in the garden and admired this lovely tool. Her reply was “I’m left handed so I can’t use it. Would you like it?” Not one to look a gift horse in the mouth I accepted the gift gratefully.

When visiting another friend last week I was offered a bunch of rooted Willow cuttings. I’m sure I can find homes for them in the hedgerows. Might even make a fedge with them. They will take off instantly at this time of year… decisions…decisions!

I love their bright yellow colour. It only comes on new growth though so they would have to be cut back each year to get this. A fedge is looking more likely!

The garden has started showering us with gifts too, not that it ever stopped! Rhubarb has shot up and is ready for picking. Crumble on the menu soon!

Rhubarb is a great crop in any garden. It requires very little attention apart from a mulch of manure each Winter. It can be used for jams, chutneys, crumbles and even cakes. Even if you don’t like it as a food the leaves contain oxalic acid and make a great natural pest repellant.

Finally a gift from nature…this beautiful Arum Lily…Arum maculatum…spotted in the woodland whilst walking on Sunday. Isn’t it fab!! There are many common names for this plant, cuckoopint, lords and ladies, willy lily and parsons lillycock to name but a few. In the Autumn it has poisonous red/orangey berries.

Even the weather has been generous this week. The weather has been beautiful! Sunny and dry all week. Life is good! I am thankful.

  1. Lovely post, but what is a fedge? It sounds so Irish!
    -Susan

  2. a beautiful day of gifting!

  3. Here’s another gift! 😉
    I love your blog and wanted to be able to share it with others. It inspires me a lot so, I have nominated you for the “Sunshine Award” Please follow the link to your nomination by clicking this: http://atouchofhedviine.com/2012/03/30/sunshine-award

  4. I have one of those tools- also a gift. It is called a “Korean Hand Plow” aka “Ho- Mi”.
    Useful.

    Also seems to become invisible when left on the ground if you step away from the bed for a few minutes. I have lost and found mine a couple dozen times in my garden (so far). 😉

    I also have a Hori-Hori, a Japanese digging spade/knife thing. Very useful as well.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hori_hori

  5. Our rhubarb is just up too. I usually make pie with it, with some custard and a spoonful of strawberry jam mixed in, but I keep hearing about “crumble” so I will be trying that soon. I just read about fedges– I’d no idea! How extremely pretty and cool. Go for it and do follow up here about how it goes Bridget.

  6. Lovely post Bridget – and some lovely gifts too. Never heard of a Japanese hoe but wouldn’t be able to use it either as I am left-handed. Your rhubarb is doing well – one patch of mine is – the other is only just coming through. Today is rather dull, and just as I was getting used to the lovely sunshine.

  7. Bridget — thank you for your kind words. I enjoyed reading your facts, and I appreciate your commitment to justice. More importantly, I completely understand falling in love with a tool. For me it’s a shovel and I never use it. It’s too pretty to get dirty. 🙂

  8. I’ve fallen in love with the Japanese hoe…I’ll be looking for one now.
    Jane x

  9. A Japanese hoe and willow cuttings? Someone is smiling down on you, Bridget. I planted a willow arbour in my last garden; above and around a garden bench. Worked really well, and it was fun weaving it into the right shape. Just thought I’d share that with you (to make up for bad snake karma!). Dave

  10. Congrats, Bridget. Well deserved 🙂
    That looks a very good,useful tool alright!
    I love the willow cuttings too. We have rhubarb growing for as long as I know my hubby, his mother had it here, and it gives a great crop every year still!

  11. I feel very strongly about no. 3 too, we are very similar in character 😀

  12. Good morning! Some coincidences .. a new friend gave me some willow canes last week and they are outside in a pot, awaiting roots! And that digger, I have one also .. it’s the greatest thing since sliced bread. I love those nature photos. Great post, Bridget!

  13. Congrats, Bridget. Don’t feel shy about the award. It’s a credit to your hard work and your lovely photos.

    As to the great tool your were gifted with–I’ve had one for about 15 years now. It’s one of the few things that will dig reliably in the rocky clay soil I garden in. I’ve actually had to dig holes to plant trees with with that thing because we absolutely canot use shovels on our land. I adore that tool!

Leave a Reply

