Bridget

In praise of green…

In green living, Ireland, nature on July 8, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Ireland is famous for it’s greenness…there is even an old song that mentions Ireland’s 40 shades of green. We may complain about our weather…all that rain can be wearing…but it is that very rain that makes Ireland the lush, green place it is.

Green is such an important colour…it is the colour most often accociated with Nature and being in the countryside. It is the colour of the heart chakra and is in the middle of the colour spectrum. It holds the balance between the red, hot end of the colour spectrum, and blue, the cold end of the colour spectrum.

Green is soothing and helps to reduce feelings of turmoil and negativity. Everyone feels better after a walk in a cool green forest.

Tourists are drawn to Ireland because of the slow pace of life here, away from the city anyway, maybe it is the predominance of green that helps people to chill out and have time to stop and chew the fat (chat). 

What can be more soothing to a person’s soul than gazing into the green canopy of a beautiful tree…even if the sky behind is grey!

Green food is full of vitamins and minerals which help to keep our bodies in balance. “One of the causes of heart disease is a diet low in the antioxidant vitamins C and E and beta-carotene. Green leafy vegetables are a particularly rich source of these.” Secrets of Colour Healing by Stephanie Norris.

The old adage “Eat your greens” was very sensible advice indeed…

  1. I can’t wait to come visit Ireland some day soon. So beautiful and green is my favorite color. 🙂

  2. Really lovely soothing post, Bridget. Ireland and Wales are both known for their lush greenery and copious rain – I don’t think it will be long before England catches up! The plants are loving it – and so are the slugs! Do you have any tips on keeping the slugs at bay?

    • Capture any frogs and stick them in your garden. If you have a pond they will stay. I’ve had little slug problems since putting in the pond.

  3. Yup. Eat your greens and heck eat most of the veggie rainbow! 🙂

    Michael

  4. I never thought I’d say this, but I love my greens. No meal is complete without some green on the plate. I give out about the rain but without it, the country wouldn’t look so AMAZING!

  5. I have to say green is one of my favorite colors. Certain shades more than others, but it soothes me.

  6. We have so much rain this summer here in Shropshire that we are incredibly green. We keep commenting “Its as green as Ireland!”

  7. I the winter I crave colour,if it weren’t for the evergreens (and the blue sky) in my white world I think I would go mad.
    Jane x

  8. A lovely post about shades of green 🙂

  9. I feel calmer already, thanks.

  10. As Kermit would say “green is what I want to be!”

  11. My fav color!!! that and yellow:) depends on my mood! lol! excellent ode to green, Bridget. My family says chew the fat also;^) xx

  12. Green is my ‘proper’ favourite colour (purple being a bit of a whimsy) and we certainly missed those gorgeous shades when holidaying in drought stricken France last year. Lovely post 🙂

  13. Green is calming, soothing, refreshing… and the colour of Mother Nature herself. Lovely!

  14. I did just that today, Bridget. When I looked outside and saw no real threat of rain, I got my runners and my jacket on and outdoors I went. The lushness and the lusciousness of the foliage and yes, all those 40 shades of greenery (if not more than 40) were a delighted to more than just my eyes, but filled my heart with joy and contentment to be breathing in all the scents of summer, of plants and trees and flowers and, if I’m not mistaken, some berries starting to shyly make their appearance in some of the bushes and hedges.

    On a day that for me had begun as sort of ‘meh,’ energy-wise, getting out there amongst all that nature, walking through and alongside and communing with all that energy – green energy in a very literal sense – was the best gift I could’ve given myself today to perk up my slightly sagging spirits.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and these beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

