Bridget

Seasonal plants, Water and the craziness of Fracking.

In Foraging., sustainable living on April 23, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Rhubarb season is in full swing now. Jam has been made, chutney recipes are being searched out and crumbles are on the menu. Last night I made a Strawberry, Rhubarb and Sweet Cicely crumble. Delicious! In our haste to eat it I forgot to take a pic to tease you with.

The Daffodils have lasted such a long time this year. They are starting to lose their vibrancy now but they’ve been flowering for about 6 weeks. Usually the Spring brings lots of rain and wind which flattens them pretty quickly, but this year we have actually had a Spring with proper Spring weather.      Huge areas of England are already in drought conditions with hose bans in force in many areas. I find it crazy that in midst of their water shortage the English government have given the go ahead to the resumption of hydraulic fracturing for gas in Lancanshire. This destructive process using millions of gallons of water each day to fracture the rock which then releases the gas.  This water is then poisoned with chemicals and naturally occuring heavy metals and radioactive elements. So poisoned that it is not reusable by man or beast. It does’nt make sense to me. We need to remember that all the water that will ever be is already on the Planet. It is not a renewable resource. 

In the back field the big Sycamore is in full leaf . I really love this tree and how it’s branches have taken the shape of outstretched arms…reaching to the heavens in it’s daily worship of Mother Nature.

Underneath the kitchen window this little Azalea is about to burst into full bloom. It never fails to give a great display year on year.

On the lane Primroses are giving their annual display. All parts of the plant are edible and a few of the flowers look lovely decorating a salad. An infusion of the fresh plant can be used to make a cough remedy and a mildly sedative tea. It is however protected in the wild so unless you have a profusion of them in your own garden it’s best to admire them and leave them to Nature.

A  plant which you can pick to your heart’s content is Sorrel. It gives a lovely lemony kick to a mixed salad and can be cooked as a vegetable. The succulent leaves are pleasant to eat raw and are a great thirst quencher. It grows in abundance here as it likes the damp, acidic soil. Mother Nature provides.

  1. Oh, no butterflies of any kind here yet ( but we’ve been having a run of nights near freezing.) But I’m so looking forward to their re-appearance.

    One of our neighbors has been busily tearing up nettles and I’ve been trying to dissuade since it is not even a yard but a open space nearby and not bothering anyone.

    Michael

  2. I want to see some Chutney photos! It’s my new goal to make a strawberry Ruhbarb. I had never heard of Hydraulic Fracturing before. Unfortunately, it seems that where the money is so are the laws to protect them regardless of the negative consequences.

  3. Oh gosh, you’ve gotten me craving rhubarb crumble! Still early for rhubarb here!

    I appreciate your concerns about fracking…. it’s a large bone of contention here as well. (No need to remind me that the Haliburton Corp. invented it and utilized first here in Kansas, 1947. A black day if you ask me….)

  4. I love rhubarb and crumble – don’t blame you for eating it before you remembered to take a photo!

  5. have you tried red veined sorrel? Pretty and tasty. I think I got my seeds from Baker Creek at http://rareseeds.com/

  6. Love your blog. Thanks for “liking” my rhubarb post. What variety of Rhubarb do you have? I need to replace my plant with a better one. Rhubarb crumble is quick and easy to make and soooo delicious – even with my sour green plant! 🙂
    I like your info on Sorrel. I need to check for that one.
    That fracking business is just terrible.

    • I’ve no idea what variety our Rhubarb is as we got it as root divisions from friends. They inherited it with their house.

  7. Yes I think I may have first heard of rhubarb crumble on this very blog Bridget–thank you! I have a sorrel plant in my vegetable garden by the the chives for salad cuts. Hard to believe it is dry in England already. Water is precious–fracking sucks. L
    ps–I just read about Alice. So sorry!!

  8. I didn’t know that about primroses – I’ll have to have a nibble to try!

  9. Dear Bridget, My rhubarb is nearly ready — can’t wait! Fracking is a big issue in the US also. It makes me so angry! Beautifully written posting. P. x

  10. We’ll never learn until the earth has nothing left to give ,and the human race is dying off.
    Jane x
    Ps My rhubarb is about 4 inches off the ground YAY!

  11. Fracking angers me, but Big Business money talks louder. 😦 My grandmother used to make pies with sorrel. 🙂 I enjoy the photos of your farm and the trees.

  12. I do so miss my rhubarb here in Luxor. I did bring seeds with me to see if I could grow it here but nothing so far. Knowing it needed frost in the winter I figured I’d put the plant in the fridge but the seeds sprouted and died. So a complete loss. I will keep trying though…
    Totally agree with the water issue!!! If we don’t take care of it we will die!!! Simple as!

  13. Completely agree about the fracking and water, Bridget. Hubby is doing his OU project on that very subject. It is amazing the amount of water required by the process and yet supposedly we should all be being really careful with this precious resource. It just doesn’t make any sense.
    We’ve got plenty of rain at the moment. I need a dry day to get some planting done but so far dry weather has been elusive.

  14. Fracking has not reared it’s ugly head in Scotland yet but I think it’s only a matter of time. Banks of primroses and rhubarb crumble – what a special time of year.

  15. Fracking has not reared it’s ugly head in Scotland yet bit I think it’s only a matter of time. Contrast that with banks of primroses and rhubarb crumble….

Leave a Reply

