Bridget

Loss…

In Animals on April 19, 2012 at 3:55 pm

It has been a sad few days for us here in Arigna. Earlier in the week our lovely black collie Alice slept his last sleep and said goodbye to us. He (yes, he, a man called Alice) had been with us since January 1997 when we got him as a 4 month old puppy.

Dogs are such great companions, ours are always with us when we are working around the place. As humans it is our nature to become attached so it is so difficult when the shorter life span of dogs and other animals takes them from us. But that is the way of it and so we must cope and carry on.

 I love this pic, the last one taken of the 3 of them, sitting together in the Spring sunshine on April 4 th.  There is a flower bed out the back near the chalet where Alice liked to sit… despite my attempts to get him not to. We buried him there and maybe in another life another place we shall meet again.

Each day it gets a little easier but it is still very fresh and our hearts are heavy and full of sadness…and I wonder how the Sun can shine when our hearts feel so bruised.

But life goes on…and veggies grow…

and flowers bloom.

  1. I only saw this just now and I am sad for you too, very sad and send you small dry licky kisses from Zeb in particular who likes to offer comfort when people are bereft of family members. It’s a great heartache when a beloved dog dies. Take care and have a good break dear Bridget xx

  2. It’s almost like loosing a family menber. I get much to attached to my dogs, but I can’t help myself

    Have a lot of fun gardening

  3. Beautifully written. Our hearts go out to yours, Bridgett.

  4. I am so very sorry for your loss; to me, my pets are my children so I understand your pain. It was sweet of you to lay him to rest at his favorite spot. I believe that you will see him on another time. Blessings.

  5. I’m so sorry for your loss. Cherish the beautiful moments.
    Hugs XXX
    Rita

  6. Bridget,
    Such gentle and kind words for your sweet boy, this must have been such a hard post for you to write. My heart really goes out to you and your family, there is nothing harder than saying goodbye to one you love so much. You will be together again one day, and until that time let his memory shine out through your own soul, where a part of him will live forever.
    Sending lots of love from my family to yours, kathryn

  7. I’m so sorry about Alice. It sounds like he lived a very long and full life with you, though!

    It never gets any easier when a pet must leave your family. I know you will see him again one day.

  8. Bridget, I am so sorry for your loss. Alice sounds like such a wonderful companion. You will always have your memories of him. Our companion animals love with such purity and sweetness, I think it brings out the same in us.

  9. Bridget, I am so sorry to hear about Alice. May you find comfort in the knowledge that you are in the hearts and prayers of so many people around the world.

  10. Sorry to hear about Alice especially as we have known him for so long. He will be missed. Love to you both.X

  11. Dear Bridget, I am sorry for your loss of Alice. I hope this poem is some consolation.

    Man and Dog

    Who’s this–alone with stone and sky?
    It’s only my old dog and I–
    It’s only him; it’s only me;
    Alone with stone and grass and tree.

    What share we most–we two together?
    Smells, and awareness of the weather.
    What is it makes us more than dust?
    My trust in him; in me his trust.

    Here’s anyhow one decent thing
    That life to man and dog can bring;
    One decent thing, remultiplied
    Till earth’s last dog and man have died.

    SIEGFRIED SASSOON

  12. What a gorgeous handsome boy he was. My heart goes with you all at this sad time. xx

  13. This makes me sad. we really have enjoyed your animal pictures and stories, obviously they are family like ours are to us. we were devastated when our previous old sweet hound mixes both went down the same day Christmas weekend in 2008 and swore we wouldn’t set ourselves up for that sort of loss again 😦

    (We did though)

  14. May he find the rainbow bridge and await you there. Blessings!

  15. So sorry to hear about your loss of Alice. It’s so hard to lose a member of the family.

  16. I am so sorry to hear this sad news. It’s never easy, is it?

  17. a time to mourn his loss, to shed a tear of rememberance and then the time will come to smile at memories of him. Precious part of your life.

  18. Bridget, dare I say pets are so intuitive, they are often closer to our hearts than people, who tend to put themselves first. Dogs and cats help so much, wordlessly; I’m sad for your loss and wish you a spring full of healing.

  19. Bridget,

    My thougths are with you. It’s amazing how deep those paw prints impress into our lives and hearts.Hugs.

  20. Thinking of you…. very sad news Bridget x

  21. Sending a virtual hug. Each cat we lose, hurts just as much as the first one did.

  22. The Rainbow Bridge Poem

    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.
    There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.
    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.
    The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

  23. I am so very sorry and saddened to learn of the loss of your beloved Alice. My heart breaks for you, Bridget. I know this heartache all too well…all animal lovers know this pain. It is the only difficult and painful part of having a furry companion in our lives.

    Do you know about the Rainbow Bridge? I have taken comfort from the Rainbow Bridge poem so many times throughout my life. Please always know that although your sweet Alice is not there with you in the tangible, huggable, physical sense, he is and will be with you always, in your heart, through your love for him, and his love for you, with your memories of him. Know that he knew he was loved, and loved you so much for all the love you gave him throughout his life in this earthly realm.

    I will light a candle for Alice tonight. It will help him find his way towards the Rainbow Bridge, where, once there, he will be happy, healthy, young again and live forever. That’s where all my beloved cats and dogs are now. I miss them, but all I need to do is think of them, remember them, see them in my mind’s eye, and they are right there with me, in my heart.

    You may sense Alice out in the garden, or when you’re sitting down to have your breakfast, or going out for long walks in the evening, or when you’re sitting by the fire. He will always be with you. Death cannot rob us of that.

  24. So very sorry to hear of your loss, I know how hard it is when you loose a much loved pet. I lost my dog Buster a couple of years ago now and it hurt like mad, I still miss him loads. My grandson lost his fish yesterday, people will probably think “what a fish” but he had him for 13 years he was an Oscar fish which was bought to celebrate his birth so he had him all his life R.I.P. Alice and Buzz. It does get easier and you must have given him the best you possibly could so he had a great life. Take care and good gardening (if the rain finally stops)

  25. Bridget, I’m very sorry for your loss. It’s difficult to lose a family member as loving and loyal as a dog. Take heart, what is now bittersweet will become purely sweet memories in time.

  26. I’m so sorry, Bridget. It’s heartbreaking to have to say goodbye, but what wonderful memories of a beloved, loyal companion.

  27. So sorry, Bridget. Animals have a way of working their way into our hearts (and I’m glad for that, because they enrich our lives). I love the pictures of Alice, especially all 3 of the dogs together. He lived a long time–1996? I can only hope the same longetivity for my dog.

  28. Dear Bridget….I am so sorry for the loss of your faithful friend,Alice. We lost our old girl,Sally, a few years ago and we buried her in our garden and she is always in our hearts and minds. Alice will be following ye around the garden,even though it is hard for ye now.
    You are in my thoughts,
    Catherine.

  29. Dogs are like members of the family and they leave a big space when they are gone – but at least you have your other two to keep you company and you will always have your happy memories.

  30. Oh , the pain and loss is so raw right now. The pain will ease and you will be able to remember Alice with laughter not tears.
    Of course you will be together again.
    Jane x

  31. I suspect Alice will be with you as your make your gardening rounds. Am glad he had you, and you had him. ((((Bridget))))

  32. Ah Bridget I am so sorry to read of poor Alices passing. What a great age he lived to but of course that’s of little consolation at present when you and Andrew are grieving. I am sure both Lettie and Freddie will help you both come to terms with your loss. Thinking of you both at this difficult time x.x

  33. So sorry to hear of your loss. My dogs, cats, etc are all like my family and I understand your grief. Since you buried him in your flower bed perhaps plant a flower above him in his memory. I have a memory Garden for my loves.
    Blessed be,
    Heather

  34. Alice was an absolute legend and had a wonderful, happy life thanks to you and Andy. I loved that foxy fella and feel so sad that he has gone. Sending all of you tons of love and hugs xxxx

  35. Bridget,
    I’m deeply sorry for your loss and I know how difficult it is to lose a beloved pet. I’m a dog person too, I have more than 20 in our farm and I love everyone of them. Please be comforted by the thought that all your pet’s life has been a life of loyalty, love and devotion to you and your family!

  36. I’m very sorry to hear of your sad news. I’ve never had any pets but I can understand how Alice must have become such an important part of your family. I hope the beautiful countryside and your plants can go some way to making you feel less sad. Best wishes, Wellywoman.

  37. I am so sorry to hear about Alice

  38. Dear Bridget, I had some health issues with one of my dogs lately and it’s been a hard time for us all. I really feel close to you, even though your Alice has been less lucky than my Mina. The only thing I could say is that I really feel sorry for your family and your loss.

  39. Bridget,
    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve lost my share of dogs and cats over the years–it’s a difficult thing to bear. I have found that in times like this nature is indeed some consolation, however small.

    Karla

  40. Ah, Bridget, I am so very sorry for your loss .. .Alice was a beautiful being and he will be sorely missed. His presence will always be with you. He had the most wonderful life with you .. living with love and all the beauty that surrounds your home and property. Sending you warm hugs from across the way.

  41. So sorry. It can be excruciatingly hard and bring all sorts of other losses to the surface to compound the pain. May the other dogs and the people around you (and your garden – even blogging!) help you through it.

Leave a Reply

