Bridget

St. Patrick’s Day.

In Ireland, sustainable living on March 17, 2012 at 12:02 am

The evening sky last night was just beautiful…like flames in the clouds. Sky like this usually means a good day follows. Even though this sky isn’t quite red I’m reminded of the old saying,  “red sky at night shepherd’s delight, red sky in morning sailor’s warning.” Many people will be hoping for good weather today as it is of course St. Patrick’s Day. Every town will have parades and festivities. Dublin of course has the largest parade with bands coming from all over the world.

We shall keep to our own tradition and stay at home, watch some of the Dublin parade on the TV and then plant our early Potatoes. We have been to many St. Patrick’s Day parades so we don’t feel we are missing out. Actually this has been our tradition for about 10 years now.  It’s good to make new traditions! What do you think?

As children we were always happy to see St. Patrick’s Day coming round. As it usually fell during Lent, it meant we could have a break from whatever we had “given up” for that day. Many of the men would’nt take any alcohol during Lent but most would take a break on this day. 

The day before the national feast day we would be sent out to the fields to look for shamrock,  “not clover, shamrock” my Father would say. Clover and shamrock are alike but clover has a much bigger leaf with white specks on the green. Shamrock has small little green leaves. Of course nowadays everyone buys shamrock in the supermarket but that is a relatively new phenomenon.

Patrick is still a common name in Ireland and of course round the world now. Padraig, Pauric, Paid, Paidi and Paidin are all common derivations of the name. The female form of Patrick is Patricia, this is said to have begun in Scotland in the eighteenth century.

So while we are happily planting our spuds here in Arigna may we wish you all, wherever you may be, a very happy St. Patrick’s Day.

  1. Beautiful pics – hope you had a great St Patrick’s day.

  2. I love that you have a specific day to plant potatoes. Here in Nova Scotia we dare not plant anything till the full moon in June!

  3. A Happy St. Patrick’s Day. The other day I saw in the supermarket that they were selling shamrock but the leaves were big. I don’t know how Shamrock and Clover look like. But, I know in my yard, I have those ground-hugging plants with very tiny leaves and the leaf-arrangement are those of clover/shamrock. So, does that mean I have shamrock and the supermarket was selling false thing?

    • Could well be! You can set up a little shamrock selling booth next year. Apparently shamrock only grows in Ireland. Many people have taken seeds and plants to other countries but it never grows.

  4. Beautiful pictures and I love that you share the traditions of how you celebrate St. Patricks Day in Ireland……from another Irish Lass in the America’s….See you around the blogs Bridget 😉

  5. My mother taught me to wear a shamrock brooch, and I wear green. Have never seen my mother in green, so there you have the old and the new.

  6. Happy St Patricks Day, Bridget. My gran was from just outside Dublin but I never remember her doing anything in particular to celebrate. I like the sound of your potato planting tradition. Mine are looking ready to go out but it has been wet here today. I’m looking at next weekend.

  7. Slainte! Happy St. Paddys, Bridget!

  8. Happy St Patrick’s Day Bridget! I’m a big fan of continuing family traditions but sometimes, when life changes, it’s necessary to change the celebrations too! I hope the weather stays fine for your planting x

  9. Lovely post Bridget! I always look forward to your posts, they are always well written and have wonderful photographs to go along with it.

  10. Hi Bridget, Beautiful trees. Yes, I agree, it is sometimes nice to change the way that we honor holidays.

    I have never been to Ireland but my mother adores it, has many friends there, and has celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with them. Years ago she published a book there, too, on Ireland’s musical instrument makers. Quite lovely, a reflection of the country, no doubt.

  11. My midddle name is Patricia!
    Jane x

  12. I love your tradition and memories. As for me, I’ll be bagpiping my way up 5th Avenue in New York City. Enjoy your day!

  13. The word tradition is for some something handed down from our parents but heh new times, new world, new thinking so I’m all on for re thinking old traditions and creating new ones. A very happy paddys to you both.

    Ena x.x

  14. Lovely photos Bridget. Yes, me and him will be at home too. All the family will be doing their own “thing”. I brought my children to the parade long ago too. I just hope the weather will be drier than today for gardening.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day, whichever way you spend it 🙂

Leave a Reply

