Bridget

The History of the Welly

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2012 at 6:40 pm

All you every need to know about wellies!

wellywoman

Over the past few months I have become aware that not everyone knows what wellies are. Rubber boots that are designed to keep the feet dry, they are not an item of footwear that is particular to Britain but as they have been taken around the world other countries have come up with different names and this is where the word ‘wellies’ can get lost in translation. Apparently wellies are called galoshes, rain boots or rubber boots in America and Canada, gumboots or gummies in Australia, New Zealand and South Africa and are sometimes referred to as topboots in Ireland. So I thought I’d start off the New Year with a post about the history of the humble Wellington Boot.

Wellington boots are named after the Duke of Wellington. Famous for his defeat of Napoleon at the Battle of Waterloo in 1815, he then went on to be head of the…

View original post 373 more words

  1. Huh. How interesting. We call them Wellies too. I don’t have any.

  2. I’ve just discovered and followed your blog.. anyone who loves wellies as I do has got to be all right by me:) I love mine.. wear them almost every day, rain, shine, snow…

  3. We call them Welly’s too here in North Carolina, USA. Don’t wear my very often, I like lighter footwear when I can get away with it.

  4. I have a pair, and I wear them every time I’m in “Yard work mode”! Mine are black with green soles ( I actually bought them in the women’s section, because they fit better ) I don’t care though..I LOVE ‘EM muahahah

  5. How nice of wellywoman to let you reblog her post, and include a full size photo from her blog! I was reblogged by someone and the post they used had one of my copyright photos. They didn’t ask my permission to use the photo, so I asked them to remove it. So far they have ignored me.

  6. I’ve been wearing wellies since I could walk. Here I couldn’t be without them! I just sprung for a pair of Hunter’s last year after my old faithful wellies finally developed a hole in them. I love them!!! Loved this history too! Happy New Year!

  7. Mine are black, steel toe capped….and uncomfortable!
    I quite fancy a wild looking pair though.
    Jane x

Leave a Reply

