Bridget

Beetroot Mania!

In Gardening, vegetable growing on November 23, 2011 at 12:49 pm

 

Since reading up on the benefits of Beetroot we have decided to juice some and have a shot of it every day for the next week. Interesting that it’s so good for the blood and  being the same colour too. I listed all the vitamins and minerals in the previous post if you’re interested. Looks a bit like a bloodbath when you’re juicing it plus my juicer has developed a leak too so twas a bit messy. Luckily I have another juicer so this one is going to the recycling centre.

 

 

Andy mixed his shot with some Grapefruit juice. I mixed mine with a Banana, Strawberries and soya milk to make a smoothie. Delicious…kept me going for the day. I’m working up to drinking it neat!

Being in a beetrooty frame of mind I decided to make the Beetroot and Chocolate Cake I mentioned in my last post.

To make it you need: 8ozs self-raising flour, 1 oz cocoa powder, pinch of salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 4 ozs caster sugar, 4 ozs raw beetroot, peeled and grated, 3 ozs dark chocolate, melted, 3 ozs butter, melted, 2 eggs, beaten.

Set the oven to Gas 4, 180 c. Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin. Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder. Stir in the sugar, beetroot, melted chocolate and melted butter. Turn into tin and bake for 45-50 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack.

 

 

After I had started to mix the cake I realised did’nt have any chocolate…I went ahead anyway and used an extra egg and a bit more butter which worked fine.

 

It’s amazing how someone always turns up when you’ve baked a cake. This one was cooling when our neighbours called in. Kettle on…tea and coffee…chat…and a freshly baked cake. It was still slightly warm but it was devoured anyway. No one could guess the secret ingredient…even with knowing it was hard to tell the cake contained beetroot. There’s still lots more Beetroot in the polytunnel  so I’m off to seek out a few more recipes!  

 

  1. […] cookies, or pumpkin via chocolate cupcakes. I was very happy, then, when I found an interesting recipe for chocolate cake with beets. It is good! Baki lunged for them when he got home, and wasn’t […]

  2. Great idea – I always think I should do something with all my leftover pulp that ends up down the drain!

  3. We got something out of the garden but can’t decide if it’s a beet or a radish. It doesn’t look like either, so I think I’ll try and make your cake with it and we’ll see how it does! Ha! Yours looks delish by the way, as does that juice. SO PRETTY!

  4. The drinks sound thoroughly disgusting but I expect you are both bounding around healthfully now – just right for enjoying cakes.

  5. Yum–makes me want to bake a cake! It looks a bit like American red velvet cake. Now I’m soooo hungry! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_velvet_cake

  6. That recipe sounds fascinating! I might have to go find some beets..

  7. I’m going to have to try that cake, very interesting. Love your blog, and hello from chilly Canada!

  8. I always throw beets on my salads. It never occurred to me to try juicing them! Great idea.

  9. I like cooked and warmed beets, but am not sure about the drinking the beetroot juice. I did see your previous post on the nutrition, but still would have a hard time drinking it no matter what it is mixed with. I do believe the cake would be good though. I guess I am not so daring to try foods in different ways.

  10. We drink our beetroot juice with some sparkling mineral water otherwise it’s a bit thick. We’ve also made the brownies with beetroot. It keeps them moist. The only down side with beetroot is the mess and the purple fingers…

  11. We’ve had chocolate and beetroot brownies before and they were nice but then I think that might have been the chocolate. Not sure about drinking it neat and I do think you’re brave juicing it. My kitchen is bad enough after just cooking it normally. I fear the stains on my newly painted white walls.

  12. That cake looks delicious. We only had a small amount of beetroot this year so we pickled it. Haven’t tried anything sweet with beetroot but will definitely have a go at the cake!!

  13. Wonderful. Isn’t the colour so seductive. Last year when we got snowed in I had purple food in abundance in the freezer, so we had beetroots followed by blackberries, with red cabbage. It was hilarious, but lovely to look at!! That cake is scrummy:~))

Leave a Reply

