Bridget

October Musings from Prospect Cottage.

In Bees, Gardening, herbal remedies on October 25, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Watery sunlight shines through the jars of newly potted honey from our Bees. Less honey this year but it’s been so sunless and wet we are impressed to get anything. We have 14 of these one pound pots which will see us through Winter. Enough honey is left for the Bees food supply for the Winter. Some Beekeepers take all the honey then feed the Bees sugar syrup, but Andy prefers not to do that.

The big Sycamore tree has dropped most of it’s leaves now…

they fall conveniently on the developing Forest Garden area beneath…giving a perfect mulch to the plants.

A Sunflower produces a late bloom. A cheery sight on these drab wet days we have had throughout October.

On the laneway the combination of the Hawthorn berries and the lichen covered branches give a Christmassy look. The lichen seems to get whiter at this time of the year…or maybe I notice it more when the leaves have fallen. Lichens only grow where the air is pure…they are a good sign of  an unpolluted environment.

Sedum and Yarrow continue to flower in the shaded bed by the chalet. Yarrow is a medicinal plant…useful for nosebleeds and cuts and wounds. It can be made into a tincture which is useful for high blood pressure, weak digestion and heavy periods. The leaves can be dried and used to make a tea. This tea is particularly useful for reducing fevers.

The Fatsia which is in a big pot near the back door is doing well. Most books tell you this is a houseplant…rubbish…this one has been outside for the last 2 severe Winters and is doing great. It looks like it is going to produce flowers soon.

  1. I think there’s a fatsia growing behind our hedge in the back yard. Will have to take a picture and compare to yours! I only saw it peeping up at me yesterday, and I wondered what on earth it was 🙂

  2. Great liquid honey jars – looks like you are not affected by varoa.

  3. Your honey looks lovely, as do the colors and textures in your garden! Happy fall!

  4. Our fatsia is flowering too. It always seems an odd time for it to be doing that. I’m so glad that you leave some of the honey for the bees. it seems a porr deal for the bees to be given sugar syrup after all their hard work.

  5. The Fatsia looks lovely, it is great to have some colour in the garden at this time of year! I heard the other day that a Fatsia that is already in flower means a harsh winter!! We’ll soon find out.

  6. It is so kind of you to leave some honey for the bees. They are such worthwhile helpers in the garden. I love the photo of the berries against the lichen. It really does look like Christmas.

  7. How wonderful to have blooms coming on your Fatsia plant! Is this its usual time to bloom? I’m learning so much from your blog. I didn’t realize lichens are a good sign of unpolluted air–I guess I should be even more appreciative of the lichens around here.

  8. I love the sedum/ yarrow combination! And the honey looks fabulous. I am glad you are leaving plenty for the bees. It would be sad if after all their work, they were relegated to sugar water!

  9. That is so interesting about the lichen! I love lichen and moss and all those forest-y things.
    That is awesome you have your own honey. That is great to share it with the bees – I can’t imagine that sugar syrup is quite as nutricious.

  10. I glad you let your bees enjoy their honey during winter, love your sunflower and food for the birds this winter, my yarrow has reflowered, I’d cut my yarrow down as it was to tall and messy and it has reflowered, I like your yarrow with the sedum, Frances

  11. How beautiful your honey looks in the sunlight – something wonderful to see you through the winter.

    The hawthorne and lichen shot is wonderful.
    K

  12. You live in a wonderful part of Ireland, it has a real unspoiled feel about it. Lovely photos Bridget, funnily enough I too have a straggler sunflower in bloom…all alone….how very strange…..

  13. The honey is of such a delicate colour!

  14. I love the photos of all that lichen. Shows the air there is incredibly clean. My fatsia is about to flower too, I posted some photos the other day. They look very unusual. I love how even now when the garden is starting to go into dormancy that there is still so much to see.

  15. So you still have a sunflower. Really I don’t even want to talk about it.

    I had homemade mead years ago and it was awesome. I hope you can make it sometime. And I hope I can too actually.

    I love the silhouette of the sycamore against the sky!

  16. Autumn is marching on – not much left to see in the garden – but at last we have rain. I love honey – yours looks very pale – what are the main flowers your bees feed on?

    • I think the sunlight made it look paler than it actually is. I suppose they feed on a lot of wild plants really, lots of Hawthorn, Elder and of course the flowers in the garden.

  17. How lovely to have your own honey. Do you make mead with it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

