Bridget

The Last Hurrah!

In Gardening on September 17, 2011 at 10:28 am

Rosa Rugosa.

Despite the wind and rain there are lots of flowers in the garden at the moment. It’s like they are putting in a final push before the seasonal race is over for this year. The last hurrah!

Japanese Anemone.

Japanese Anemones give a great splash of colour at this time. They still manage to look graceful despite the weather. The only caution with them is they are so hard to eradicate if you decide you don’t like them in a particular position. I’m talking from experience here!

Yellow Rambling Rose planted earlier in the Summer.

I’m hoping this rambler will be well established next year and will take off to be trained along the banister on this verandah.

Phlox.

The Phlox is very late flowering this year. I think it got tired of waiting for sunshine.

???

Anyone know the name of this one?

Coneflower.

Coneflower or to give it it’s proper name Rudbeckia is a great Autumn standby. I really like it’s dark centre.

Devil's-bit Scabious.

 On the laneway this lovely stand of Devil’s-bit Scabious  lifts my heart each time I walk by it. I will be collecting seeds of this later on for a small wildflower area we hope to do next year. That’s the gardener’s life for ya, always thinking and planning ahead.

  1. It’s seed gathering time (get while the getting is good!) so fun. And I love the anemones,even if they like to take over and you can never get them to leave, I like that they bloom late and also the innocent, clean look of the blooms.

  2. I hate to see the season come to an end. Our rugosa has already hung up her petals for the season, although she is boasting bright orange-red rose hips right now.

    As for your yellow plant, it is without a doubt a member of the coneflower family, perhaps Echinacea “Sunrise”? Not to be confused with Rudbeckia – “yellow coneflower” (AKA black-eyed Susan) or an aster that also looks a lot like a black-eyed Susan, “Sunrise” looks like your average everyday coneflower that happens to be yellow.

    It could also be a coreopsis, but I’m betting on Echinacea.

  3. It is hard to say goodbye to all the vibrate colors that our summer flowers give us.

  4. Bridget,

    I’m just awed by Japanese Anemones, your look lovely. I have several buds on mine which were just planted last year. Not gotten aggressive yet.

  5. Beautiful garden! I love the anemones, and the roses, of course. Thank you for the lovely pictures.

  6. Those Japanese Anemone are wonderful! I really love tenacious plants as they tend to survive better.

  7. The last hurrah – I like this expression! You are so right – it looks like all the plants give their best to look great before cold weather comes!

  8. All looking lovely, Bridget especially as autumn is so imminent and it won’t last much longer. Really like the DB scabious. It would lift my heart too.

  9. We have so many of the same plants! It always tickles me to see what yours are doing and when. My Rosa Rugosa is beginning to color up her hips. Most are bright orangey-red heading to deeper colors at this point. I am anticipating rose hip tea! Enjoy the season my friend!

  10. Very nice post! I love rugosa roses too! I guess your yellow unknown is helenium. I don’t know which variety though. A good site to find out is http://www.helenium.net it’s such a generous plant in late summer.

Leave a Reply

