Bridget

Sunrise and Summer flowers @ Prospect Cottage.

In Gardening on July 28, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Did’nt sleep very well last night so I was up early, 5.30, not usual for me. There was a beautiful mist lying in the valley with the early morning tinge of pink from the rising sun. Beautiful. I can see why people say it’s the best part of the day.

More pink, even though it looks red in the pic, from these Poppies which self-seed like mad. I just pull out what I don’t want. The flowers don’t last long if it’s raining, luckily the last few days have been fine. No sun though. Its a strange Summer so far, very little sunshine.

Sweet William’s are doing well in this tractor tyre together with Strawberries. There is an Apple tree in the centre.

Love Sweet Peas especially this colour.

Inula, each flower like a mini sunshine. In front is a pot of Cornflowers. Blue and yellow together like the Roscommon flag.

Double flowered Feverfew, so pretty.

In a pot by the back door is this annual Mallow. Love the vibrant colour.

  1. wow I hope my Inula grows as good as yours, my feverfew and double feverfew died and I never got around to replacing them but the golden feverfew reseeds every year, love the colour of your sweetpeas, Frances

  2. Must be something in the air – I was up at 5.30 a few days ago which is very unusual for me. I was camping at the beach on the north Sligo coast and got to see the dawn light on the sea, looking across at Bundoran in Donegal.
    I did go back to bed for a snooze and later wished that I had stayed up as it turned out to be best part of the day and would have been lovely for a swim so if I get the chance again I will have a dawn swim – it’s years since I did that 🙂
    Thanks for the lovely tour around the garden! It is so colourful, what a delight!

  3. You have so much to offer on your blog, I could just read on and on. Love the flower photos – but you know that I am partial to them!
    Barb

  4. I think early morning is the best time of day, especially if it is mild and sunny, not much of that this Summer. Pity the Poppies don’t last a little longer, gorgeous pictures.

  5. What a gift to wake up too, even if it was a bit early! Your flowers are so lush and pretty. Thanks for the tour. I love how you’ve re-purposed the tractor tire too.

  6. I am jealous of your poppies! They perish in our heat here. I have to get up at 5AM to go to work and then don’t get home till about 9PM, so I like to sleep late on my off days. But on the RARE occasions I am up early in the garden, it is wonderful. if I didn’t need sleep, I would do it every day.

  7. Thanks for the tour…what a lovely garden! I love the early morning as well, what with its quiet slow waking.

  8. I’d love my poppies selfseed as yours! My foxgloves selfseed and I just remove extra plants. I love your tyre-flower pot and I’m jealous about the sweet peas – I don’t have luck with them!
    Thank you, Bridget for your kind words on my containers post!

  9. I would love to be able to grow sweet peas like that…beautiful!!!

  10. Even if I was awake I wouldn’t dream of getting up that early – look what I have been missing!
    Sweet peas looking good – mine were covered in greenfly earlier but after a good bug spray they are now flowering their little heads off.

  11. A lovely post! It’s lovely to be introduced to new flowers – I hadn’t seen feverfew before and think it’s very pretty. I particularly like the apple tree surrounded by sweet williams and strawberries, very nice! Don’t be surprised if I copy this idea!!

  12. I love all your pictures a real lot! Thanks for sharing.

  13. Thanks for the tour around your place. I hope you’re sleeping better now. Your plants look very healthy–especially the Sweet Peas! I don’t recall seeing Sweet Peas that full and colorful. Beautiful!

  14. Hi Bridget,
    Thanks for your comment on my Bloomin’ Tuesday post. I came here, and saw some flowers I like as well. I just planted some inula for the first time this summer, and they haven’t bloomed yet. It was nice to see them full of flowers in your garden. I have been looking for some feverfew. I haven’t even found the seeds, but I’ll have to keep looking. Those poppies sure are pretty.

Leave a Reply

