Bridget

Daffodils blooming, grass growing @ Prospect Cottage.

In Gardening, sustainable living on March 23, 2011 at 12:25 pm

The first Daffodils opened here yesterday. Things happen a little later here as we are 110 metres above sea level. The bees are in ecstacy to have a supply of nectar again. It’s lovely to watch them flitting from flower to flower.

I wonder why so many Spring flowers are yellow?

The fields are greening up again, almost recovered from the hard Winter frost. Daphne is delighted to have fresh pickings again. No artificial fertilisers are used on the land here so no pollution runoff. Actually we are very lucky here as our smallholding is bounded by an organic farm. The only thing we put on the land is lime every few years. The land here is fairly acidic because of the high rainfall. The application of lime helps to sweeten the land and improves grass growth. Everything here, vegetables, fruits and animal health is dependant on soil health so it is incredibly important to look after it. 

These hyacinths were some of my January sales buys. They were brought on in the polytunnel. The flowers started opening up yesterday so I brought them into the house to get the full benefit of their glorious scent. This morning the heat in the house had coaxed the flowers to open fully. The scent pervading the whole house today is gorgeous, I love it.

The weather here today is great, sunny since early morning. It feels like Summer. It’s the first day this year that I am only wearing one layer of clothing. Yippee, I’m off now to sow parsnip seed and continue mulching the fruit area.

  1. Hello Bridget,
    You commented on my blogger blog, and I am here to say that your new WordPress blog looks fantastic! Most people tell me that it is pretty difficult to use WordPress, so I will have to look into it at some point, although I have a little experience with it. Most impressive!
    I am glad that you found useful information about ponds on my site. By the way, I have visited Ireland twice (in the 1980’s). I had friends that used to live in County Cork.
    Sherry

    • Thanks Sherry our pond is a work in progress at the moment. As to WordPress, if I can create a blog with it anyone can. I would’nt be the world’s most computer literate person.

Leave a Reply

