Bridget

Kale and Rainbows @ Prospect Cottage.

In Animals, sustainable living, Uncategorized on April 28, 2012 at 7:33 pm

A rainbow fading out over the hill in front of the house a few evening’s ago. I love rainbow’s…they always make me think about my Granny’s stories of how if you caught a Leprechaun, and could hold onto him,   you could force him to lead you to the crock of gold at the end of the rainbow. The Leprechaun’s were very clever and would always think of some way to frighten you into letting go of them. They  would then run off laughing and leaping with joy at fooling a stupid human again.

 Back to present times and today we pulled the last Kale plants to make way for new plantings. Such a great plant, we were provided with green pickings all Winter, then the seed heads for the last few weeks. Today the Goats got to have a meal from them too. Value indeed! I don’t put the stalks in the compost as they take ages to break down.

Some of the plants were huge, this one was 5ft tall. Kale is a very hungry plant so ground where it has grown needs to be well fertilised before the next crop. It is also a very nutritious plant being high in calcium, iron, sodium, vitamin C, carotenes and chlorophyll. Carotenes have anti-cancer properties helping to guard against  the development of cancer if consumed regularly.

Even Daphne, our lovely donkey girlie, came to have some Kale. Smart girl, she knows what’s good for her.

The last of our Kale harvest went into a soup. Together with Leeks, Potatoes and a few Nettle tops it made a delicious nutritious meal.

 

In a shaded part of the garden is this Wild Garlic. I don’t know the proper name of it. I got a clump of it from a friend last year, she did’nt know the name either. Anyone out there know? It can be used in the same way as Ransoms, all parts edible.

  1. I love Kale and eat it all year round. i had no idea it could grow that tall though! I love how you use every part of it, whether in soup or a treat for the goats and donkey. well done!

  2. Your kale soup looks LOVELY!

  3. I’ve just been pulling up the last of the Kale too – I let some of it flower, the early bees love it, but it’s time to clear and prepare the ground. Lucky goats and donkey I say!

  4. I did not know that kale is such a big plant, beautiful flowers on the wild garlic.

  5. Something tells me you did manage to pin that Leprachaun down, enough to have him lead you to the pot of gold you have right there Bridget… 🙂

  6. Yes on kale! I love all the varieties of it too. Well, at least all I’ve tried – perhaps there’s one I have met yet that I wouldn’t like.

    Michael

  7. There’s something about the colour and texture of kale that makes you sort of know you are eating iron with every mouthful.

  8. I love kale and grew cavolo nero last year but I have plans for a few different varieties for this year.

  9. A lovely blog and your animals are delightful!

  10. I really enjoyed this blog entry. We love kale also and recently dug up all but a few that sprouted little off-shoots at the bottom that are producing but will probably bolt soon in the Tennessee heat. I sauteed some tonight in oil, soy sauce and just a little sugar. Delicious. Will have to put some in soup next time.

  11. Kale is one of my favourites. All we have left are the stumps of winter frozen plants..no use for anything. we had wild ramps for dinner tonight in a ramp and lemon risotto…boy, it was good.
    Jane x

  12. I think its called allium triquetrum common name is three cornered wild garlic as the flower stem is a triangle in cross section, its looking really nice at the moment.

  13. HI Bridget .. Huge kale plants!! I’m going to grow some this year. Have been making kale chips (with tahini & grated mizithra cheese) .. so delicious!

  14. What a pretty plant the wild garlic is! No idea what other names are! We’ve just pulled our old kale as well. Time for the next batch! I’m sprouting wheat grass for the first time. I’ll grow it in the house where it will become an ingredient in our smoothies/juices.

    • Apparently the garlic is called three cornered wild garlic as the stem is triangular. Info from a blog visitor. I have grown wheatgrass in the past. I even have the proper juicer. It certainly is an acquired taste but so good for you.

  15. I used to grow kale especially for my goats – now I feed it to my two sheep who love it as well.

  16. Do you remember the story about the man who caught the leprechaun but when the leprechaun tried to fool him he mad him tie his red scarf around a ragwort plant so he would remember where the gold was. He returned the following morning to find red scarves around all the plants!!!
    There is a theory that the Leprechaun is a watered down version of the old god Lugh!!!
    I have to say your donkey looks a lot healthier than our Egyptian ones and I am going to try planting some Kale seeds need winter to see if it grows here!!

    • Not familiar with that story but I’m sure I’ve heard similar takes on it. Poor old Egyptian donkeys! Kale is always nicer after a frost but it’s always worth experimenting.

  17. Lovely story about the Leprechaun’s! I pulled the last of my kale too last week and the hens have been pecking away at it – lucky you with wild garlic, have yet to find a source here.

Leave a comment